Capital announces 2016 Board of Directors

Please see below for the 2016 elected Board of Directors and Program Reps. Congratulations to our newest leadership team; we are excited for what 2016 will bring for the Club.

2016 Capital Rowing Club Elected Officials 
President — Nhat Nguyen (2 year term, entering 2nd year)
VP of Resources — Rob Nance (2 year term, entering 1st year)
VP of Operations — Gretchen Abell
VP of Membership — Toni Kerns
Social Director — Rachel Poor
Secretary — Kirsten Peterson

Directors at Large:
Alison Lenz
Georgia Bullen
Grant Kraus
Meredith Somers

Program Reps:
CARP — Shannon Franks
Club AM — Katelyn Polantz
Club PM — Sarah Montgomery
Club Sculling — Geoff Brown
Comp Sculling — Karen Werth
Comp Men — Brett Rini
Comp Women — Sarah Gross
SAW (co-reps) — Jim Smailes & Susie Allen Serpinski


If you have any questions, please submit them to On behalf of the 2015 Board of Directors, it has been a pleasure to serve you and the Club, and we look forward to closing out another successful year at Capital Rowing Club and to on-boarding the 2016 officials.

Board Members

Board of Directors for the 2010 Season


Kelley O’Connell

Vice-President of Operations

Gretchen Abell

Vice-President of Resources

Deborah Pianko

Vice-President of Membership

Brett Rini


Chris Erling

Development Director

Michael Brown

Social Director

Anne Iyer

Community Programs

Meredith Miller

Race Czarina

Christina Erling

Clothing and Capital Gear

Shannon Stichman

Transportation Captain

Dave Barksdale


Thomas Peng

Board Member

Nathan Ballou

Board Member

Kyle Bates

Board Member

Peter Courtney

Board Member

Rebecca Friend

Safety Captain TJ Riley
Capital Sprints Director Sue & Craig McKay
ACBA Rep & ACBA President Jennifer Ney
ACBA Representative Tom Dalton


Program Representatives for the 2010 Season

Club AM Abigail Potter
Club PM Darby Wiggins
Sculling and Small Boats Program Abigail Constantino
Seniors & Weekends Jim Smailes
Competitive Men Michael Zgoda
Competitive Women Fana Gebeyehu-Houston